PBA Philippine Cup All Filipino

The Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Governors Cup is one of three conferences in the league’s season. The Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Governors’ Cup is the most prestigious conference in the PBA season. It is the only league that allows clubs to employ international players, sometimes called imports, which adds a new level of excitement and competition to the games.

What is PBA Governors' Cup?

The Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Governors’ Cup is the third and final conference of the season. The Governors’ Cup is often the most entertaining and competitive conference of the PBA season, with teams wanting to capture the title and end the season on a high note. Adding imports also adds new excitement to the games, as viewers can watch some of the world’s finest basketball players battle against one another.

What is PBA Governors' Cup
PBA Philippine Cup History

History of the PBA Governors' Cup

During the 1993 PBA season, the league dubbed the Third Conference the Governor’s Cup, most likely in honor of the PBA Board of Governors’ chairman. The single designation “Governor” refers to the team’s board representation. The conference was generally the final tournament in a PBA season.

Alaska controlled the Governors Cup from 1994 through 1997 after San Miguel won the inaugural one in 1993. Due to the league’s commitment to the Philippine Centennial Team, each team was permitted to acquire two imports with a total height of 12 feet in 1998. Shell defeated Mobiline in the competition even though no players were selected for the national squad.

List of PBA Governors' Cup Champions

Several PBA teams have carved their names in history as Governors’ Cup champions. These winners have imprinted in Philippine basketball history by displaying remarkable collaboration, skill, and dedication. From its inception in 1993, this tournament has consistently showcased the best of Philippine basketball. Over the years, legendary teams such as the San Miguel Beermen, Alaska Milkmen, and Barangay Ginebra San Miguel have etched their names into the annals of basketball history, demonstrating their prowess and skill on the court.

Some of the most successful Governors’ Cup teams in history include:

Alaska Milkmen1993
Purefoods TJ Hotdogs1994
San Miguel Beermen1995
Alaska Milkmen1996
San Miguel Beermen1997
Shell Rimula X1998
San Miguel Beermen1999
San Miguel Beermen2000
Sta. Lucia Realtors2001
San Miguel Beermen2002
No tournament2003
Talk 'N Text Tropang Texters2011
San Miguel Beermen2012
San Miguel Beermen2013
San Miguel Beermen2014
San Miguel Beermen2015
Alaska Aces2016
Barangay Ginebra San Miguel2017
Magnolia Hotshots Pambansang Manok2018
San Miguel Beermen2019
No tournament2020
TNT Tropang Giga2021
Barangay Ginebra San Miguel2022
Barangay Ginebra San Miguel2023

Top Franchise Team with the Most Championships in Governors' Cup

San Miguel Beermen7
Alaska Milkmen4
Barangay Ginebra San Miguel4
Purefoods TJ Hotdogs"3
Formula Shell Zoom Masters1
Sta. Lucia Realtors1
Rain or Shine Elasto Painters1
TNT Tropang Giga1

Best Player of the Conference

SeasonBest PlayerTeam
1993Hector CalmaSan Miguel Beermen
1994Johnny AbarrientosAlaska Milkmen
1995Alvin PatrimonioPurefoods Corned Beef
1996Johnny AbarrientosAlaska Milkmen
1997Johnny AbarrientosAlaska Milkmen
1998Billy Ray BatesShell Zoom Masters
1999Michael PhelpsSan Miguel Beermen
2000Danny SeiglePurefoods Corned Beef
2001Alvin PatrimonioPurefoods Corned Beef
2002Danny SeiglePurefoods Corned Beef
2011Mark CaguioaBarangay Ginebra San Miguel
2012June Mar FajardoSan Miguel Beermen
2013June Mar FajardoSan Miguel Beermen
2014Ranidel de OcampoTNT Tropang Giga
2015June Mar FajardoSan Miguel Beermen
2016Japeth AguilarBarangay Ginebra San Miguel
2017Greg SlaughterBarangay Ginebra San Miguel
2018Paul LeeMagnolia Hotshots
2019Christian StandhardingerNorthport Batang Pier
2021Scottie ThompsonBarangay Ginebra San Miguel
2022Scottie ThompsonBarangay Ginebra San Miguel
2023Christian StandhardingerBarangay Ginebra San Miguel



The PBA Governors’ Cup format begins with a double-round robin elimination round, followed by a single-elimination format for the playoffs. After the elimination round, the top eight teams advance to the playoffs, engaging in best-of-seven series until a champion is crowned.

The San Miguel Beermen have won the most Governors’ Cup championships with 9 titles.

PBA Updates PH New Logo

PBA Updates provide the latest and most relevant information on the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA), covering game highlights, player trades and updates, team standings, and more. Stay up-to-date with the latest news and developments in the PBA with PBA Updates PH.



+63 962 045 2763


[email protected]


Makati City 1231 Metro Manila

@2023 PBA Updates PH – All rights reserved.