PBA Commissioners Cup Champion 48th Season

San Miguel Beer takes the PBA Commissioner's Cup Championship!

San Miguel Beer won the highly coveted PBA Commissioner’s Cup championship in a thrilling final against the Magnolia Hotshots. The game, hosted at the legendary Smart Araneta Coliseum in Quezon City, saw a miraculous comeback by San Miguel, who recovered from a late nine-point deficit to win 104-102 on Wednesday night.

Despite Magnolia’s brave attempt, headed by birthday boy Paul Lee, who delivered a stunning performance, San Miguel Beer demonstrated tenacity and resolve in the face of adversity. With under five minutes remaining, the Beermen launched a fantastic comeback, going on a 6-0 run to cut the deficit to two points, 95-92, with 2:50 left.

However, Lee’s heroics with a critical three-pointer temporarily slowed San Miguel’s momentum. However, CJ Perez and Jericho Cruz led the Beermen’s offensive surge, cutting the score to one point, 98-97, with 1:43 left to play.

The game heated up as the time ticked, with both teams exchanging baskets and defensive stops in a frantic struggle for supremacy. With only 1:27 remaining, Chris Ross hit a crucial three-pointer to put San Miguel up 100-99, putting the fans on edge.

June Mar Fajardo’s defensive brilliance pushed Magnolia into a vital turnover, allowing Perez to increase San Miguel’s advantage with a huge three-pointer, further consolidating their lead in the game.

Despite Magnolia’s determined efforts to make a comeback, missed free throws and defensive errors sealed their doom. Perez, named Finals Most Valuable Player, had a standout effort with 28 points, assisted by Bennie Boatwright and June Mar Fajardo, who both had 19-point double-doubles.

Paul Lee’s stunning 25-point outburst on his birthday fell short, as Magnolia suffered back-to-back losses after forcing a 2-2 tie in the series.

In the end, San Miguel Beer emerged triumphant, winning their 29th PBA title after a hard-fought struggle with the Magnolia Hotshots.

Final score: SAN MIGUEL 104 – Perez 28, Boatwright 19, Fajardo 19, Cruz 12, Trollano 10, Ross 9, Tautuaa 4, Enciso 2, Teng 1, Lassiter 0.

MAGNOLIA 102 – Lee 25, Bey 18, Sangalang 16, Jalalon 12, Barroca 11, Dela Rosa 9, Dionisio 7, Abueva 4, Tratter 0 and Escoto 0.

This thrilling end to the PBA Commissioner’s Cup displayed both teams’ perseverance and brilliance, leaving fans hungry for the next chapter in Philippine basketball history.


For more updated news about PBA, D-League, and more, visit PBA News, and if you want to bet on PBA, you must visit first our PBA Betting Site Reviews that cater the top 5 Online Betting platforms in the Philippines that can help you choose the right betting platform.



PBA Updates PH New Logo

PBA Updates provide the latest and most relevant information on the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA), covering game highlights, player trades and updates, team standings, and more. Stay up-to-date with the latest news and developments in the PBA with PBA Updates PH.



+63 962 045 2763


[email protected]


Makati City 1231 Metro Manila

@2023 PBA Updates PH – All rights reserved.