The TNT Tropang Giga, which debuted in the PBA in 1990 as the Mobiline Phone Pals, underwent various name changes. They were then dubbed the Talk ‘N Text Phone Pals before adopting the TNT Katropa name. To better portray their identity, they relaunched as the TNT Tropang Giga in recent years.

The squad has seen its fair share of ups and downs. They went through a championship drought in the early 2000s before making a comeback in the late 2000s and early 2010s, winning seven PBA titles. The dynamic combo of Jimmy Alapag and Jayson Castro, vital to the team’s success, defined this period.

One of the team’s most notable moments in the 2015 PBA Commissioner’s Cup was winning the title behind imports Ivan Johnson and David Simon. This triumph was especially noteworthy because it was their first Commissioner’s Cup victory in 18 years.

The TNT Tropang Giga have long been recognized for their dedication to greatness on and off the court. They have a great development program and have produced some of the best basketball players in the country.

The team’s rivalry with other PBA powerhouses, such as the Barangay Ginebra San Miguel and the San Miguel Beermen, has resulted in intense and highly anticipated contests that have added to the league’s history.

TNT Tropang Giga Team Profile



TNT Kim Aurin

#35 Kim Aurin

TNT Jayson Castro

#17 Jayson Castro

TNT Quinton Heruela

#13 Brian Heruela

TNT Kirell Montalbo

#15 Kirell Montalbo

TNT Ryan Reyes

#10 Ryan Reyes

TNT Mike Tomolia

#6 Mike Tolomia


TNT Carl Bryan Cruz

#2 Carl Bryan Cruz

TNT Henry Galinato

#32 Henry Galinato


#0 RHJ

TNT Glenn Khobuntin

#12 Glenn Khobuntin

TNT Calvin Oftana

#8 Calvin Oftana

TNT Roger Pogoy

#16 Roger Pogoy

TNT Jewel Ponferada

#15 Jewel Ponferada

TNT Frederick Tungcab

#11 Frederick Tungcab

TNT Paul Varilla

#12 Paul Varilla

TNT Kelly Williams

#21 Kelly Williams


#2 Carl Bryan Cruz



Isabelo “Jojo” Lastimosa Jr. is a former professional basketball player from the Philippines who is now the head coach and team manager of the TNT Tropang Giga in the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA). As a player, he is a 10-time PBA champion and was chosen to the PBA’s 40th Anniversary All-Time Team.

He was the Most Valuable Player of the Cesafi tournament 1986 while playing college basketball for the University of San Jose-Recoletos in Cebu City. During the 1980s and 1990s, he was also a Philippine national basketball team member.

Lastimosa was voted PBA Coach of the Year in 2023. He is the only head coach in history to win the award in his first season in charge.

Lastimosa is a great basketball legend in the Philippines. He is a ten-time champion both as a player and a coach, and he is well-known for his clutch shooting and ability to lead his team to success. He is a recognized leader and mentor, and many young basketball players look up to him.

TNT Tropang Giga Team Profile Coach



Mr. Isabelo Lastimosa, Mr. Miguel Fernandez


Mr. Victorico P. Vargas


Josh Reyes
Sandy Arespacochaga
Yuri Escueta
Ranidel de Ocampo
Bong Ravena


Philippine Long Distance Telephone Co., Inc. 6764 Bankers Centre, Ayala Ave., Makati City






TNT Tropang Giga, a prestigious PBA team owned by the MVP Group of Companies, has won 10 PBA championships, including the Governors’ Cup in 2023 and consecutive PBA 3×3 titles in 2021 and 2022. The squad includes seasoned players like Jayson Castro, RR Pogoy, and Troy Rosario and budding stars like Kib Montalbo. It is led by the veteran Isabelo Lastimosa, who acts as head coach and team manager. The Tropang Giga are known for their exciting play style and an ardent fan base. Their heritage includes the All-Filipino CupCommissioner’s Cup, coveted Philippine Cup triumphs, and individual accolades highlighting their basketball skill. TNT Tropang Giga’s path in Philippine basketball continues to attract fans and demonstrate greatness on the field as a perennial challenger.


The team was founded in 1991 by Mobiline Phone Pals. It changed its name to Talk ‘N Text in 2001 and adopted its current moniker, TNT Tropang Giga, in 2020.

The TNT Tropang Giga has won nine PBA championships (excluding one memorable tournament championship).

Legends like Johnny Abarrientos, Kenneth Duremdes, Asi Taulava, Jimmy Alapag, Ranidel De Ocampo, Jayson Castro, and Roger Pogoy have all left their mark on the team’s history.

PBA Updates PH New Logo

PBA Updates provide the latest and most relevant information on the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA), covering game highlights, player trades and updates, team standings, and more. Stay up-to-date with the latest news and developments in the PBA with PBA Updates PH.



+63 962 045 2763


[email protected]


Makati City 1231 Metro Manila

@2023 PBA Updates PH – All rights reserved.